From an article in the Stevens Point Journal:

A local renewable energy organization and two local state officials will be among those honored next week by the College of Natural Resources at the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point.

The Midwest Renewable Energy Association and state representative Louis Molepske, Jr. have been named co-recipients of the 2009-10 Environmental Leader Award. In addition to his involvement as a member of the CNR’s Advisory Board, Molepske, Jr., also serves on the Assembly Committee on Agriculture, Committee on Natural Resources, and Committee on Fish and Wildlife.

The MREA promotes renewable energy, energy efficiency and sustainable living through education and demonstration and sponsors the MREA Energy Fair, the nation’s longest running energy education event of its kind.

The award honors individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions to maintaining the integrity of our ecosystems. Candidates are nominated by the faculty and selected by the CNR Dean’s Council.

State Senator Julie Lassa is one of five individuals to receive the CNR’s 2009-10 Outstanding Contributor Award for her longtime support of college programs, most recently her efforts to secure state funding for core staffing in UWSP’s promising initiative, the Wisconsin Institute for Sustainable Technology.